Ideas and Updates

Oh my goodness, I’m actually updating my blog, and it’s not a Thursday! What could this mean? The end of the world? Another advice article? Complaining about sex-ed or GLBT rights or college or Southern attitudes? Mais non!

The thing is, I’ve really been wracking my brain to figure out what I could do to keep this blog more active and more interesting. My personal TiLT lists will be around every week, since they’ve had some degree of success and generally just make me happy, but TiLT lists alone can’t make up a blog.

So, what to do?

Let’s talk about some things that are coming up…

♥ More themed days. As I said, TiLT can’t comprise the entirety of my blog, but it does keep me updating from week to week. One of my friends, in addition to TiLT, is trying out something called “Music Mondays” where he, surprise!, talks about and recommends some music, and I think he has the right idea. Although I don’t want to nab his “Music Mondays”, I’m considering doing something along those lines. I’ve been toying with a few ideas, and I’ve decided that I’m either going to make a decision on one and start it this week or try a few different themes in the next couple of weeks and see which seems to fit the best. Feedback would definitely help in this process!

♥ Possible guest entries. Although I’m trying to build my own small pile of entries before inviting others to add to it, I’m very interested in having some people write guest entries in the not-so-distant future. I’m not sure exactly what these entries would revolve around; that will, of course, depend on the specialties of the person doing the entry! Luckily, I’m blessed to know some very talented people, and I already have a few in mind to ask about contributing.

♥ April. I’m not going to go into too much detail about this yet, but I will say that there are several things going on in April that are important to me. In light of these events, I plan to devote the month of April to blogging about issues that are going on the world and also to highlighting groups and events that are helping to deal with these issues.

Aside from the new entries I have planned, there are also a few changes that are going to be made to the blog itself.

♥ Adding a mixpod player to the sidebar. If you’re reading this, you’ve probably already noticed the ipod-like music playlist to your right. I figured that since I’m going on about music I like all the time, I might as well display it so that you can listen to it!

♥ (Coming Soon) Making a separate links list on my “Beautiful Places Elsewhere on the Web” just for blogs. I’ve been sorting and searching lately to find blogs that really inspire me, and of course I want you to be able to get inspired, too. I’ll be bringing a list of these blogs to my links page soon.

♥ Possibly having a page here for my Month-Long Self-Portrait project. I’d rather not seem egotistical, but being someone who doesn’t really use flickr and is wanting to do something interesting with the self-photography project I have planned, I very well may set my photos up on a separate page here with little explanations about each of them. Although this project was something I wanted to do for my 101 in 1001 list, I’m actually thinking that I might make a change to it and simply take a picture every day for a month that says something about me, not necessarily a self-portrait. Time will tell…

♥ Slight aesthetics adjustments. The overall look of Breadcrumbs is about to get a very small tweaking. There won’t be many changes, since I like the clean look it has already, but I’ll be adding some personal touches.

That’s all for right now! Enjoy the last day of your weekend, and look forward to more entries coming to Breadcrumbs soon.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Ideas and Updates

  1. Sounds like a great collection of ideas! 🙂 And don’t worry about “nabbing” the Music Mondays idea, I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one that does that. I’ve seen people do it on Twitter a lot… (Well, I did, back when I used Twitter semi-often.) Anyway. I look forward to seeing the new ideas come out!

Leave a Reply

